Several local athletes received recognition from the Green Meadows Conference recently as the league announced the Winter Sports Schlolar Athletes for 2018-2019.

To be eligible for this honor, athletes must be a senior while participating and lettering in a recognized sport or cheerleading while posting a grade point average of 3.5 or better.

From Antwerp, six athletes were honored with the award.

Austin Chirgwin, Luke Brewer, Kendall Billman, Jake Ryan, Brayton Stuckey and Jon Lederman all were named GMC Scholar Athletes.

Scholar Athletes from Wayne Trace included Sara Edwards, Julianne Roop, Kaylee Shepherd, Sadie Sinn, Trae Sinn and Wyatt Stabler.

Edgerton and Hicksville led all conference members with 13 honorees each while Tinora had a dozen athletes recognized.

Ayersville, Holgate and Fairview each have eight athletes being honored.