Sports Writer

ANTWERP - After leading her team to a state championship, Antwerp junior pitcher Carlie Hanes was named the Green Meadows Conference Softball Player of the Year in voting by the league’s coaches recently.

Archer head coach Krista Ordway is proud of the player that Hanes has become.

“She is a phenomenal player for us,” noted the Archer mentor. “She has a tremendous work ethic and just wants to be the best she can be. She works extremely hard and she continues to push herself to get better.”

Hanes was joined on the first team by nine other players from around the league.

Ayersville and Fairview each got three players on the squad. The senior trio of Aubrey Florence, Courtney Lindeman and Chloe Bowen were the Lady Pilots who picked up first team honors while Apaches garnering first team awards were senior Kinsey Dietrich, senior Kendyl Kime and sophomore Anna Ankney.

Wayne Trace senior Madilyn Brigner, Tinora senior Hannah Horn and Edgerton sophomore Rylei Moreno also were named to the all-league first team.

Receiving second team honors were Antwerp juniors Tiera Gomez and Karsyn Brumett, Wayne Trace junior Libby Wenzlick, Holgate senior Madison Hohenberger, Fairview seniors Logan Smith and Kamryn Boland, Hicksville senior Laney Balser, Tinora senior Aubrey Reineke and Edgerton junior Ally Cape.

Players picking up honorable mention included Antwerp freshman Astianna Coppes, Ayersville sophomore Kelly Limbaugh, Edgerton sophomore Allison Elliott, Fairview senior Riley Collins, Hicksville senior Samantha Klima, Holgate senior Cameron Hoellrich, Tinora junior Sierra Salinas and Wayne Trace senior Emily Dyson.