Progress Editor

PAULDING – Only three candidates have filed for two county offices in the May 8 Primary Election. No local tax issues will appear on the ballot.

Filing deadline for declarations of candidacy and local questions and issues was 4 p.m. Wednesday, Feb. 7.

Offices to be decided this year are county auditor and county commissioner (term commencing Jan. 1, 2019).

Current Auditor Claudia J. Fickel of Oakwood is seeking re-election as a Republican candidate. She will be unopposed in the primary.

Commissioner Mark W. Holtsberry of Paulding has filed for re-election as a Republican candidate. He faces a challenge from fellow Republican Clint A. Vance of Paulding.

No Democratic candidate filed for auditor or commissioner.

Write-in candidates interested in running for either office have until 4 p.m. Feb. 26 to file for the primary.

Filing deadline for independent candidates for the Nov. 6 General Election will be 4 p.m. May 7.

The number of items of local interest on the ballot may be small, but voters will see many choices among state-level offices and who will represent voters in the Statehouse and on Capitol Hill.

Ohio Secretary of State Jon Husted announced the complete list of candidates who filed with his office to run for statewide offices. Candidates filing petitions include:

• Governor/Lt. Governor – Richard Cordray/Betty Sutton, Democrat; Mike DeWine/Jon Husted, Republican; Larry E. Ealy/Jeffrey Lynn, Democrat; Constance Gadell-Newton/Brett R. Joseph (Green); Jonathan Heavey/Adam Hudak, Democrat; Dennis John Kucinich/Tara L. Samples, Democrat; Bill O’Neill/Chantelle C. Lewis, Democrat; Connie Pillich/Scott Schertzer, Democrat; Paul E. Ray/Jerry M. Schroeder, Democrat; Joe Schiavoni/Stephanie Dodd, Democrat; Mary Taylor/Nathan D. Estruth, Republican

• Attorney General – Steve Dettelbach, Democrat; Dave Yost, Republican

• Auditor of State – Keith Faber, Republican; Kelli Prather, Democrat; Zack Space, Democrat

• Secretary of State – Kathleen Clyde, Democrat; Frank LaRose, Republican

• Supreme Court – Craig Baldwin, Republican - Term commencing 1/1/2019; Mary DeGenaro, Republican - Term commencing 1/2/2019; Michael Donnelly, Democrat – Term commencing 1/1/2019; Melody Stewart, Democrat – Term commencing 1/2/2019

• Treasurer of State – Sandra O’Brien, Republican; Neil Patel, Democrat; Rob Richardson, Democrat; Robert Sprague, Republican

Candidates running for U.S. Senate and U.S. Congress:

• United States Senate – Melissa Ackison, Republican; incumbent Sherrod Brown, Democrat; Don Elijah Eckhart, Republican; Mike Gibbons, Republican; Dan Kiley, Republican; Jim Renacci, Republican

• U.S. Congress, 5th District – James Neu Jr., Democrat; John Michael Galbraith, Democrat; incumbent Bob Latta, Republican; Bob Kreienkamp, Republican; Todd Wolfrum, Republican

Candidates running for Ohio General Assembly (Ohio Senate and Ohio House of Representatives):

• State Representative, 82nd District – Aden Baker, Democrat; incumbent Craig Riedel, Republican

• State Senator, 1st District – Adam Papin Democrat; incumbent Robert McColley, Republican; Bob Barker Jr., Republican; Craig Kupferberg, Republican.

Any questions should be directed to the Paulding County Board of Elections at 105 E. Perry St., Paulding OH 45879, or by calling 419-399-8230. The office email address is

The office website may be located at