HAVILAND – The opening of the Wayne Trace Local School District Board of Education meeting was spent remembering former board member Perry Sinn.

Sinn passed away on Oct. 15 and served the district for 12 years. A plaque was presented to several family members who were on hand for the special recognition.

As a part of recognizing guests, two instructors from Payne, Christine Bauer and Kristen Schlatter, presented a discussion on a new program they learned about last summer based on a book titled Universal Design for Learning.

Both Schlatter and Bauer explained the new teaching concept being used at Payne Elementary, as being based on a co-teaching setting for elementary grades 4-6. The idea of the new style is to get kids to become resourceful 21st Century learners, so that when they don’t know something, they are able to find the needed resources to learn what they need to succeed.

Superintendent Ben Winans reported information concerning the proposed masonry work at both Grover Hill Elementary and at Wayne Trace Jr./Sr. High School. Similar work was done this past summer at Payne Elementary at a cost of $200,000.

The upcoming masonry work scheduled for this summer by Trisco Systems from Lima was approved by the board at an approximate cost of $46,226 at Wayne Trace and $22,944 at Grover Hill.

Solar energy continues to be an area of interest for many area schools. School districts such as Holgate and Antwerp have worked with Solar Usage Now from Hamilton, Ind. Winans informed the board that Solar Usage Now is interested in serving the Wayne Trace district with a similar opportunity to solar energy. An audit will need to take place in order to see how to proceed with a proposed project according to Winans.

The board approved partnership with Allen County/Western Buckeye ESC to appoint a business advisory council.

The board accepted the resignation of executive secretary to the superintendent, Ann Olwin, effective Jan. 1. Olwin will be retiring.

Also approved by the Board was a resolution supporting Ohio Senate Bill 216 that allows for changes to Ohio law regarding continuing contracts for non-teaching employees, teacher licensure and evaluation, aide permits, student testing and College Credit Plus.

Faith Meraz, winner of the junior high Spelling Bee. and Mallory Moore, winner of the junior high Geography Bee, were both commended for their accomplishments.

The newest national Honor Society members, as well as the Vantage Career Center National Technical Honor Society, were recognized. From the National Technical Honor Society were members Garrett Silance and Joey DeBoer.

From the NHS, students included Grant Baumle, Madison Coyne, Sara Edwards, Anne Eklund, Noah Hasch, Alli Hefner, Bryan Hofmann, Clark Laukhuf, Gracie Laukhuf, Austin Reed, Rachel Ringler, Julianne Roope, Kylee Shepherd, Trae Sinn, Sadie Sinn, Ellie Stoller, Matthew Stauffer and Reece Thompson.

Several others were commended, including: Sharon Spinner, Ann Wieland, Kaleb O’Donnell, and Joni Wenninger for coordinating the Christmas programs; Karen Wagonrod for coordinating the senior citizens luncheon; Susie Johnson, Linda Bradtmueller, cafeteria staff, Wenninger and Spinner, the music department and the National Honor Society, along with students from the FFA for their leadership with the events.

In other business, the board:

• Approved the transfer of $300,000 from the general fund to the permanent improvement fund. The transfer represents a transfer of income tax monies received so far in fiscal year 2018.

• Approved the purchase of a BlueBird 72-passenger bus from Cardinal Bus Sales and Service. The cost will be $76,900 and will be purchased through the group purchasing cooperative Southwestern ESC.

• approved Jack Baumle as a volunteer softball coach for 2017-2018.